Southern Style Green Beans

OK. I know, I know, sugar is bad for you. I am doing good lately on lessening my sugar intake but for some reason, I can’t do it on this recipe! I think the next time I make this recipe I may try a more natural sweetener, but for now! Here are the best green beans ever!

My grandma always made these for us when we growing up and I loved them! When my sister and I moved out and wanted the recipe, she said she made it up and had no recipe! So, for the past year I’ve been trying to remake them and this is what I have came up with. You want them to taste a little sweet. If you add a little too much sugar, just had a little more salt and it should even it out, but personally I like a lot of sugar! They are seriously so good!
Southern Green Beans
Your preferred style of green beans (I get two cans of French style)
4 pieces of bacon cut into cubes
1 and 1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon garlic powder
Salt and pepper to taste
Cut the bacon into cubes and brown in skillet.
Drain the bacon leaving a very small amount (1/2 teaspoon) of the grease and add the juice from the green beans to the skillet and simmer, just to mix the flavors. Add the green beans and let them simmer awhile until heated through.
Leave a Reply

